Ceremonial Blog-Opening First Post

October 1, 2009

At the outset my idea is that this can be a place for writings related to my research but less formal than standard academic work.  But also less transient than the kind of comments made in email conversations with friends.

Doing this kind of writing in a blog makes it easy to share with friends and colleagues.  At this point I’m not seeking a larger audience.  The public nature of blogging however is an interesting complement to the public side of academic work today – to the fact that, whether you like it or not, you have a presence on the internet.  Being public and associated with my “real identity” also imposes a certain discipline on the writing, compared to what I might say in an email to friends.

This mission statement may change, or along with many who’ve tried this, I might abandon the project entirely.